Impact of COVID-19 on our Community

ILOTA recognizes the impact of Covid-19 (coronavirus) on individuals, families, the nation, and our world as we all adapt to these uncertain times. Please see the January 2021 COVID-19 Resources Guide for more information on what we have compiled for our members, the public, and OT practitioners throughout Illinois.

Modalities Image

Registration is NOW OPEN for our January 2022 Therapeutic Modalities for Occupational Therapy Practitioners: Electrical and Thermal Course

Incorporating thermal and electrical modalities as an adjunct intervention within a treatment plan can enhance patient outcomes.  This comprehensive hands-on course will emphasize the application, theory, and evidence behind the use of both thermal and electrical modalities in clinical practice. The lectures, lab practice, case studies, simulation, and demonstration will foster critical thinking skills to enable practitioners to select and use therapeutic modalities applied to a variety of patient conditions. This hybrid course begins January 4, 2022, and will be capped at 24 registrants. Registration Fees: Members $425 - Non-Members $560. (Not a member? Join today and register at the lower rate!) Course details and registration form here. 

Logo of the 2021 ILOTA Virtual Annual Conference

Our 2021 ILOTA Virtual Annual Conference Continues through November 30th - Registration Remains Open!

Hundreds of registrants are currently viewing our 70 on-demand courses and earning their CE certificates. So there is still time to register! Earn 40+ CE hours and complete Sexual Harassment and Ethics training courses in time for the 2021 licensure cycle. Although our Live Sessions have concluded for the month of October, registrants may still view the recordings of the Live Sessions, take the assessment, and earn their CE certificates. The on-demand recordings will be available through November 30, 2021. Click here or on the logo above for the details/registration form and a link to our online brochure to browse the courses.


ILOTA awards image

 Congratulations to ILOTA's 2021 Award Winners!

The 2021 ILOTA Awards recipients were honored on October 16, 2021, during our virtual Annual Business Meeting & Awards Ceremony. You can view all of this year's winners here. Congratulations to our 2021 award winners!


New Update on 2021 Illinois Licensure Cycle (October 20, 2021) 

We wrote our ILOTA members on October 8, 2021, with an update from the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) on the 2021 Illinois Licensure Cycle. As you already may know, IDFPR has now opened their online renewal process for Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants as noted under the "Professions Currently in Renewal" section on the IDFPR website:  

Most of you already may have received your renewal notice via email. However, we've received a fair amount of questions from our members about the new online renewal process. So, our co-chair of ILOTA's Administration & Management Special Interest Section (SIS), Nancy Richman, has put together a few simple steps that might be helpful to you. And our ILOTA President, Anne Kiraly-Alvarez, prepared this PDF with screenshots that should prove very useful. Read more here... 


Justice, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (JEDI) Special Interest Section (SIS) Upcoming 2021 Meetings

The JEDI SIS has several upcoming monthly Zoom meetings that are free and open to anyone: COTAD Connections Meetings and the JEDI SIS Committee Meetings. Click here for more information and to view the schedule.


Image of OT in practice 

Help Promote OT in Illinois with Video Clips

ILOTA is currently working on developing promotional and educational videos and content about OT from Illinois OTs, OTAs, and students!  We would love contributors from as many practice settings and geographical regions of Illinois as possible, so please consider contributing! Click here for more information and for a link to sign up.


General Image for Live Virtual Events

New! Browse our Complete 2021 ILOTA Live Virtual Events Series

We have held 10 online educational programs through the first six months of 2021, and we have now grouped the content from them in one location. The programs have been part of our ILOTA Live Virtual Events series that began in February. Nine of the events were recorded, and they are available to view at your convenience. These include all five of our OT Month events in April, the "Advancing OT Through Advocacy and the Legislative Process" program from February, the "Re-framing Pediatric Occupational Therapy – What does it really mean to be holistic?" event in May, and more! (Note: CEUs were available only to those who attended the live virtual sessions.) Take a few moments to browse our new ILOTA Live Virtual Events website page


Logo of the Illinois Occupational Therapy Association


ILOTA Vision

ILOTA is a multifaceted association committed to enhancing health and well-being through the utilization of best occupational therapy practices in Illinois.

ILOTA Mission

ILOTA is recognized as the premier occupational therapy resource in Illinois. We strive to advance the best practice of occupational therapy through serving, supporting, and promoting the profession.

Join our contact list!

Stay in touch with ILOTA for course offerings, conference news, and other important updates.
Click here to create a profile

(This is not a membership.  To receive membership benefits, please review the membership dues and categories).

       Congratulations to our 2020 ILOTA Award winners!

  • Honorary Lifetime Member Awards – Clem Carder, COTA/L, LMT, CKTI & Gail Fisher, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
  • Award of Merit – Linda Olson, OTR/L
  • Public Awareness Award – Laura Van Pumbyrouck, PhD, OTR/L
  • OT of the Year Award – Kelsey Watters, OTR/L
  • OTA of the Year Award – Abigail Swidergal, COTA/L & Joni Kamstra, COTA